Skip to content

Banana Bread with a New Spin

March 19, 2012

I don’t know about you, but I sure do like homemade banana bread (which is pretty strange since I’m not all that fond of bananas themselves)! If I have bananas in the house that didn’t get eaten when they were the perfect yellow color, they typically get made into bread… or chocolate banana milk shakes, which is a different post entirely.

So, I’ll bet you’ve guessed it already, but I have a few bananas hanging around in my fruit basket just begging to get mashed. Here’s my spin on banana bread that gives it a nuttier taste and a healthier vibe.

A couple notes. This recipe makes two loaves. Also, I have cut the amount of sugar in half from what would be a normal amount. It still tastes great with the natural fruit sugars, but if you have a sweet tooth, you may want to add a bit more.

Banana Nut Bread with Streusel Topping

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1/4 cup wheat germ

1 Tbs. baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

3/4 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg

4 eggs, beaten

2 – 2 1/2 cups ripe bananas, mashed (about 6 large bananas)

1/2 cup butter, melted

1/2 cup cooking oil (canola or olive)

1/2 cup walnuts, chopped

3 Tbs. cold butter

1/4 cup + 2 Tbs. packed brown sugar

3 Tbs. all-purpose flour

Instructions:

In a large bowl, combine dry ingredients (first 8 ingredients).

In a mixing bowl, beat the mashed bananas, eggs, sugar, butter and oil on low speed until combined.

Add the dry ingredients all at once. Stir together just until moistened.

Fold in walnuts.

Pour batter into two greased 8 x 4 inch loaf pans.

In another bowl, cut the cold butter into the brown sugar and flour until it looks like coarse crumbs. Spoon this streusel topping over both loaves.

Bake loaves in a 350 degree oven for about 45 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.

Cool on racks for ten minutes before removing the bread from pans. Store in the refrigerator after cooling.

If you’d like to print this recipe out as a recipe card, you can download this Word document below.

Banana Nut Bread

Happy Baking!

From → Cooking

3 Comments
  1. I love banana bread too, and I think I need to make some as I have three brown bananas lined up on the counter. 🙂 I will probably replace the oil and butter with applesauce in this recipe–we always buy the unsweetened, and it’s a great replacement to oil in most recipes. I am not AGAINST oil–but I like the flavor the applesauce gives anyway! 🙂 Thanks for sharing this! I’ve never tried it with a streusel topping before—very excited to eat it!! 🙂

    • Let me know how it turns out with the applesauce! I have baked with applesauce on occasion and I know it works great in some things (although not so well in my cookie recipes). What other baked goods do you use applesauce in?

      • I have used it in brownies (not a HUGE fan of the taste) and in any and all quick bread recipes. I used it tonight in a “healthy” version of an oatmeal cookie, and although I will say it does not necessarily have the same taste/consistency as a typical oatmeal cookie, I was expecting that since I was replacing/omitting lots of normal cookie ingredients. 🙂 It is good though!! Those brown bananas got transferred to my freezer, and I haven’t made the bread yet, but I will!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

