Skip to content

House-cleaning Checksheet

March 8, 2012

Is there anything exciting about cleaning a house? I don’t think so! There are few things that can make it enjoyable. To me, the only way to make the experience better is to incorporate some kind of challenge into it or somehow make it fun.

My amazing husband likes (truly he does!) to help me clean the house. I know that’s hard to believe, but you’ll just have to take my word for it.

We do a full house cleaning, top to bottom, every two weeks. Ok, sometime three weeks… but it’s SUPPOSED to be two weeks! In between, we both do little spot cleans. Here’s a few things you can do regularly to make things easier on yourself when house cleaning day comes.

1. Pick up clutter every night. Stack books and magazines neatly. Take plates and glasses to the kitchen.

2. Stay on top of the dishes. Get off the grease and grime before it gets hard and… well… I’ll let you use your imagination.

3. If you spill something, clean it up right away.

4. Empty the waste baskets before they overflow.

5. If company is company is coming or things start looking really bad, do a quick dusting with a Swiffer or vacuum the most-used walkways in your home (such as the hallways and living room.

The last couple of times that my husband and I have cleaned, I have first made a checklist. Then each of us picks the things on it we would like to do. I pick one thing, he picks one thing, etc. Then it’s kind of fun to see who can get done first. Cheap entertainment, I know…

I finally made up a checklist that separated the cleaning in our home based on each room. We then put our initials next to the tasks we have chosen and check them off when we have accomplished them. I know it sounds like we’re both eleven year olds with a list of chores, but it works for us.

Curious to try it? Or maybe you have kids that could use something like this. Here are a couple Word Docs that you can use for assigning chores.

The first is a link to my list if you just want to change a few of the items to match your house.

The second is more of a blank form that you could fill in on your computer or print out and fill in by hand.

Anything to make cleaning the house go a little easier, right?

Happy cleaning!

 

From → Cleaning

4 Comments
  1. I love this method! I really love cleaning with my husband but it rarely happens. I will be running your ideas by him. Maybe he will jump on board. Thanks for the printable! Have a great night!

  2. Abby permalink

    Oooh! Love the signature at the bottom of your posts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

