Skip to content

Cheap Chic: Take Two

February 29, 2012

I’m back for Wednesday’s look at home decor!

I’m sure you remember me telling you all about the storage box I made for my office. I didn’t have any enclosed storage space in that room, so I decided to make some myself. However, with a budget of $0.00, there was only so much I could do. I grabbed some heavy duty cardboard boxes (like the kind you can get at a grocery store with apples or oranges in) and covered them in a variety of pictures I found in fashion magazine. To finish them off, I covered the sides and bottoms in contac paper.

Here’s a look at the last four boxes I made.

This box is all pictures of perfume. Over the years, if I find a particular scent that I love, I will clip out the magazine page so I can remember the name of the perfume later. And someday, when I’ve inherited millions of dollars….Wwell, anyway, maybe I’ll end up with one or two of these¬†someday.

Bonus: Now all my husband has to do for gift ideas is go into my office and spin this box around!

My last three boxes were all based on clothing and accessories fashion. I made two with pastels and one (my favorite) with black and white pictures. (These boxes are hanging out on the top shelf of my built-in book shelves.)

I made a somewhat abstract background for this pastel design by cutting strips of paper at various angles. It’s different, but I think it’s growing on me.

These pictures worked out well because I had a two page spread of Louis Vuitton. I just love how there is ice cream and other sweets in these pictures!

This is my favorite because of the black-and-white photos that channel a bit of Audrey Hepburn and fashion from the ’50’s.

See you tomorrow for a look a look at organizing and assigning chores around the house!

From → Decorating

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

