Skip to content

Stuffed Green Peppers

February 28, 2012

My dear readers, I have failed again! There was no yummy food post yesterday! In fact, I was barely home yesterday but was instead out doing loads of shopping. First stop, JoAnn Fabrics! I bought enough patterns, fabric and notions for a number of sewing projects I have… mostly loungewear that I am desperately in need of. Plus, loungewear seemed like a great sewing project for me to use to get to know my sewing machine better. I also got a fabulous Vogue pattern for Roman shades that I really want to try for my kitchen at some point in the future.

Then it was off to Walmart for a massive amount of supplies and groceries. I haven’t done a big shopping trip there for at least four weeks, so I suppose it was about time. Plus, we are gearing up for a big, bad winter storm tonight and tomorrow, so it’s nice to know that we have plenty to eat if we get stuck in our house until spring! I love good, old fashioned blizzards. As long as you don’t lose your electricity, they’re so very nice for relaxing and for getting a lot done around the house.

But now, time to catch up on what should have been posted yesterday. Stuffed green peppers – the perfect warm, but healthy food for a cozy, winter’s evening!

Green peppers had been on sale here lately and were looking rather yummy, so I snapped some up. There are a variety of ways to make stuffed green peppers and a variety of fillings that people enjoy. This is a very basic option that I like but you could certainly be creative and exchange some of the ingredients for something similar such as ground turkey for the ground beef. You could also use yellow peppers for a sweeter alternative.

First, cut the tops off the peppers in a thin slice.

Remove the stem from the top slice and cut the seeds out of the pepper.

Put the peppers into a pot of boiling water for five minutes. This will cook them a bit while still keeping them crisp, not soggy.

Remove the peppers from the water with a pair of tongs. Place them on a paper towel to quickly drain.

Meanwhile, brown a half pound of ground beef  in a large pan with a tiny bit of olive oil. (Don’t you love my amazingly exact measurements???) Halfway through the browning, add about 1/4 of a minced yellow onion, a teaspoon of fresh minced garlic, a 1/2 teaspoon of dried basil and a 1/2 teaspoon of dried marjoram.

When the meat is completely browned, add 8 ounces of tomato sauce and 1 cup of cooked rice. Mix together. (I used brown rice to make it even healthier.)

After placing the pepper bottoms in a small casserole, sprinkle about 2 tablespoons of shredded cheddar cheese in the bottom of each. Then fill the peppers with the meat and rice mixture.

Put another 2 tablespoons of shredded cheddar cheese on the top and cover with the green pepper tops. If you have extra meat and rice (like I always do), put it around the peppers and cover it with shredded cheddar cheese. It’s always nice to have a little extra anyway.

Bake  uncovered at 350 degrees and serve!

My husband and I were so excited for supper that I forgot to take a picture of them when they were out of the oven. Oops!

Enjoy your Tuesday evening while I enjoy my snow! (Hopefully, I will throw in an extra post this week to make up for missing yesterday.)

From → Cooking

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

