Skip to content

Woven Afghan

February 24, 2012

This week I finished what has been a very long project. In fact, I’ve been working on it since December of 2009. My motto for certain types of crafts such as knitting or crocheting is that I only work on them when I truly want to and then I don’t worry about growing bored with the project.

This project was very unique. It made use of a small loom used for making woven squares of yarn. These looms were first made in the 1930’s with the last models being from the 1970’s as far as I know. My mom had one of these looms and the long needle that goes with it and I was in love with the woven afghan she made with it when I was quite young. It is a very warm and sturdy afghan.

Here is the front of my afghan. This picture makes it look a lot longer than it truly is. I made it to fit generously on a single bed if need be. I slip-stitched the squares together when I was done making them, then crocheted two rows of single crochet around the entire blanket. The slip-stitching raises the border of each square.

Here is a picture of the back of the afghan (with my cat, Macbeth).

Final product…

I loved the cozy feel of these somewhat rustic colors. I used seven different colors from Vanna’s Choice for Lion’s Brand yarns. It’s not my absolute favorite kind of yarn, but it was the only one that had all the colors that I wanted. Of course, there’s a number of other color ideas you could use. You could do various shades of one color or use only two or three colors. A more elegant look would use more muted colors. Don’t you think a pale blue and light grey would be gorgeous?

Of course, these looms are now only sold used. If you’re lucky, you might be able to find one at a thrift store or a garage sale or you could search online.

Thankfully, I found the instructions for how to weave a square online in some very old scanned-in patterns. Apparently, people used to make all sorts of items out of these squares – even dresses! Yikes! Can you imagine??? However, the instructions also include a variety of designs that you can weave into the squares such as hearts and diamonds.

You can find out all sorts of information on the Weave-It Looms and Loomettes at eLoomaNation. There are also downloads available there for the various instruction manuals. Trust me, these looms are really simple to figure out when you have the instructions. (***Secret*** You can even make a variation of one of these looms yourself following some instructions found on eLoomaNation’s FAQ page.)

If you want to try making your own afghan (or any of the other hundreds of things you can fashion from these little squares), you can find many used looms for sale on ebay. If you need a needle, many craft stores sell 5 or 6 inch needles in their sewing notions section. If you get a bigger loom and need a longer needle or if you’re having trouble finding one, try looking at the straight upholstery needles at UpholsteryStuff, which come in lengths up to 10 inches.

Here are a couple options out of the many that I found after doing a quick search on ebay for Weave-It Loom.

Any questions? Leave me a comment!

From → Crafting

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

