Skip to content

Photo Wall

February 8, 2012

I have always wanted to have a place in my house dedicated to family photos, both old and new. It just so happens that now I have a very bare wall in my upstairs hallway. Granted, it isn’t the biggest wall but it certainly has potential!

A few years ago, I would have wanted to do something that was very symmetrical using frames that were all the same color and possibly all the same style. My ideas of decor have changed since that point! I like the modern, somewhat Bohemian idea, that a randomized look is good and even preferable. Combining colors, sizes and styles makes a home look lived in and lets the pictures look like they were gradually collected, framed and hung over a period of several years even if they weren’t.

Here’s a look at what I’ve come up with for my wall. This large frame will be the central piece. What I liked about it was that it had a good number of horizontal spaces which is sometimes hard to find in collage frames.

I then looked for a variety of colors and textures that would coordinate with my central theme. I toyed with the idea of adding some bright pops of colors in a deep turquoise, fuschia and a muted lime green. I also tried adding some white frames. But I simply wasn’t sold by the look. I have decided to use three main colors – silver, gold and black. There are also variations on the theme with glossy gold and silver and some tarnished black. Here’s a look at the three color groupings.

I am also hoping to add some of these nickel-colored flowers between the frames but I am not 100% sold on them yet.

What do you think about the flowers?

Now I need to look through tons of albums to find the perfect photos.

From → Decorating

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

