Skip to content

Little Changes

December 4, 2011

This poor bathroom has been reminding me of a hospital – very white! Slowly but surely, I am attempting to pull together a soft nautical theme. However, I needed something to pull the whole room in.

It was a bit of a spur-of-the-moment decision to paint the strip of wood that goes around the entire room blue. On the plus side, I already knew that I loved the color of the paint since I’ve used it in my current house and have always loved it. It was originally a color from Behr, I believe, that I had Walmart match in a cheaper Dutch Boy paint. I’d have to say that it turned out fairly well even though I painted it from 1:30 to 2:00 in the morning while I was half asleep and trying to cross the last few things off my lengthy To Do list.

It still looks a little funny now but I have some muted blue and purple material for a new (and more opaque) curtain. That, I think, will be the most obvious change to the room. Even though the house is in the country, I am still a city girl at heart and feel the need for appropriate window coverings in my bathrooms.

I am excited to finish getting this room together after our honeymoon so I can take some soothing evening baths. (As you can see, I did purchase some glass cannisters at Ikea that will SOON be filled with fabulous bath beads! I have found some great ones by Vaseline brand that are less than $3 a box on Amazon.com and even cheaper at Walmart.)

Now all I have to do is come up with a good way to cover up as much of the old-ish linoleum without making it look like the room is carpeted….

From → Decorating

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

