Skip to content

A First Time for Everything

November 30, 2011

I have never shopped on Black Friday before IN MY LIFE! Can you believe it? When I worked retail in high school, I certainly worked that day, but that’s a bit different than being part of the crowd. Normally, I get my Christmas shopping done long before then. Plus, I don’t think that you really save THAT much money on most things that day. For the most part, you can find deep discounts multiple times through the year if you subscribe to a store’s mailing list and look for coupons and special offers. Electronics are a different matter and often feature great once-a-year-only prices on Black Friday.

Since my fiance Michael and I were in the Twin Cities of Minnesota for Thanksgiving, we decided to hit up a few stores. I had a return to make at Ikea and then I found some great new bathroom accessories (which I’ll show you all later!). Then it was across the street to the Mall of America. As you can see from the picture above, it wasn’t really all that crowded by the time we got there in the early afternoon.  However, by the time we were done a couple hours later, I walked out with a fairly large bag filled with practically free merchandise.

Between coupons and sales, I got these fabulous quality Minnetonka Moccasins for under $13. (If you know about this brand, that is a fantastic price.) By the way, if you’re looking for a great shoe for the winter (comfy like a slipper, leather, WARM) try these out. Even without socks, they keep my feet completely warm. They look great with jeans too.

Then I used a couple coupons that I had for completely free merchandise at other stores. One thing I got was a bottle of Bath and Body Works lotion. In an effort to use my money wisely, I haven’t purchased as much of this brand as I have in the past. So it had been a while since I tested out any new scents. This time I decided to try Paris Amour. I am excited to try it out!

I hope you found some fabulous deals as well!

From → Saving Money

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

