Skip to content

Making the Most of the Closet Space You Have (Without Breaking the Budget!)

November 14, 2011

I would say that the closet space in my fiance’s home is somewhat lacking. For the three upstairs bedrooms, there are two closets, both of which are located off the hallway. Michael and I decided that the best option was for each of us to have our own closet. So he got the slightly smaller cedar closet. And I got the larger closet which wasn’t quite as pretty inside.

Not to be daunted, I got to work right away imagining the cheapest way that I could increase usable space in it!

It appeared that the previous owners had some kind of shelves in the larger closet which were then taken down, leaving gaping holes in the wall. I considered installing various styles of shelving and drawers. However, that would equal a more expensive task and as soon-to-be-newlyweds, I figured a cheaper way would be better for now.

Instead, I rethought the use of one of my cheap bookcases and decided that it would fit just fine in the big empty space along the side of the closet.

Since the bookcase was to sit on carpeting, I supported the heavier back of it with very short pieces of wood so that it would not sink back into the carpeting.

While it certainly isn’t something that I would use in my massive walk-in closet that I will someday have in my billion dollar country estate (yeah, dream on!), it certainly serves the purpose for now, giving me a space for many of my sweaters, sweatshirts and more. Plus, I’ve never really liked setting my clothes on those white wire shelves since they leave strange vertical line marks on your clothes.

Finally, Michael helped me cut a second wooden rod which is slightly offset from the upper rod. This now doubles the hanging space. Since the rods are offset, I can still hang my longer hanging clothes on the upper rod.

I have always dreamed of having a walk-in closet. Don’t ever let a cramped, unimaginative space stand in the way of your decorating dream!

From → Decorating

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

