Skip to content

Get Your Salty Snack Fix!

November 11, 2011

I had a very strange (for me) craving the other night. I really wanted one of those giant, soft pretzels like you get at baseball games. I don’t normally get cravings for salty foods. I’m more of a chocolate girl myself.

So I looked through the few recipes that I have left at my house (since all of the rest of them had been moved down to my fiance’s house previously). I was so excited when I found one… until I discovered that it was for a bread machine. Guess where my bread machine is? Yep, you guessed it – the same place where the rest of my recipe books are.

I would not be daunted though! I would not let my extreme ineptitude with kneading dough change my plan! Thanks to www.allrecipes.com I found a knead-by-hand recipe and after a few changes, I came up with my own recipe. (And miraculously, the dough loved me, rose beautifully and was generally obedient.)

Garlic Butter Soft Pretzels

Mix 2 packages active dry yeast (about 4 tsps.) with 1 1/3 cups warm water (about 110 to 120 degrees) and 1 tsp. sugar until dissolved. Let this sit at room temperature for 10-15 minutes.

In another bowl, mix together 5 cups all-purpose flour, 1/2 cup sugar and 1 1/2 teaspoons salt. Add 1 Tbs vegetable oil and the water and yeast mixture. Stir together thoroughly and then knead until smooth and elastic (about 8 minutes).

Place the dough in a lightly greased bowl turning once to coat with oil. Cover it with a thin towel (or even plastic wrap if necessity demands it) and place in a warm spot for about an hour until the dough doubles in size.

Then, divide the dough into 12 equal pieces and roll each into a rope about 12 inches long. (For me, it worked better to roll it between my hands than on a lightly floured counter.) Twist each into a pretzel shape.

Dip each pretzel into a wide-mouthed bowl filled with about 2 cups hot (almost boiling) water and 1/4 cup baking soda. (Hey, homeschooling moms! You could use this as a science experiments for your junior highers to talk about how baking soda works!) Dip each pretzel into the water with a slotted spoon, draining the water thoroughly before placing them on a well-greased baking sheet. Sprinkle kosher salt over the pretzels to taste.

Bake at 450 degrees for about 9 minutes. the tops will be golden brown.

With a basting brush, lightly brush 1/4 cup butter and 1/2 tsp garlic powder over pretzels. (Once again, guess where my basting brush was? So I just rubbed a stick of butter across the surfaces of the pretzels and lightly dusted garlic powder over them. Desperate times call for desperate measures!)

Enjoy! These pretzels will be nice and puffy and are perfect for late night snacks or football parties!

This recipe is also available as a Word document.

From → Cooking

One Comment
  1. These look truly deeeelish! A very good snack indeed.

Leave a Reply

