Skip to content

My Home’s Magic Cleaner

October 7, 2011

Hello everyone! Meet Oliver.

Oliver is my cute, little longhair kitty, born in June. Doesn’t he look innocent?

Most of the time, he is a great kitty. He is friendly yet playful. He also has occasional litterbox issues.

I’ll leave that one to your imagination.

However, the other night, I caught him in a corner of my spare bedroom, doing some business. It wasn’t pretty, and he certainly wasn’t happy that I caught him. Much to his dismay, he was instantly carted off to the bathroom, where my amazing hose shower head rinsed him off. Sadly, that still left me with several messes on the carpet… and my comforter. Thankfully, I chose a duvet for my bed, which makes it easy to slip the duvet cover off and pop it in the laundry. (Thanks to my mom who designed and made my reversible duvet cover herself!) But the carpet was another matter altogether.

A couple of years ago, I discovered the secret of white vinegar and ever since, it has been my magic cleaning bullet. I had spilled a cup of coffee on my bedroom carpeting and couldn’t find a way to get the stubborn brown stain out. Thanks to Google, I discovered that a mixture of half water, half white vinegar could help me out. And voila! No more stain!

Since then, it has found many uses in my home. In fact, it is rarely used for cooking anymore. I use it to soak sink sprayers and shower heads crusted over with mineral deposits. (Certainly much cheaper than professional and super caustic CLR!) I used it to clean a huge grape juice stain off my carpeting (also, thanks to one of my cats). And… the other night, it was my super quick cleaning agent for Oliver’s ***AHEM*** mess.

White vinegar doesn’t tend to leave strong odors. If it does, I simply sprinkle some baking soda on the carpet and vacuum it up after a half hour.

White vinegar has many other uses as well. It removes strong odors from plastic and glass containers. It cleams stubborn spots from the interiors of stainless steel cooking pots. When mixed with some flour and a teaspoon of salt to form a paste, it cleans silver, copper and brass. Adding a small amount of vinegar to a washing machine’s rinse cycle will decrease lint and leave colors bright and vivid. When sprayed on window sills, counters and upholstery (check by spraying a small unseen area first), it deters cats from scratching and climbing there. Pouring a quarter cup of white vinegar into the dishwasher during the rinse cycle is a cheap way to get clear and unspotted dishes.

Need some more ideas? Check out the Vinegar Tips website.

From → Cleaning

Leave a Reply

