Skip to content

Midwest Living

October 4, 2011

Have you ever checked out the magazine Midwest Living? Somehow I started getting subscription requests in the mail from them, and I instantly perked up. I decided to get an issue or two before making a snap judgment.

And wow, was it ever hard to find!

I looked all through the back of Walmart at shelves and shelves of magazines. I looked in several airport newstands. You would think that it would be easy to find a magazine about the Midwest in the Midwest, but not so. There was Coastal Living, Southern Living, Martha Stewart Living, Country Living. But no Midwest Living.

But I finally got my hands on a copy of the August issue and couldn’t tear myself away from that magazine until I was finished. This magazine is fabulous! I think the Midwest is often underrated and overlooked and this magazine corrects that.

The first article was called “Fantasy Islands.” (“WAIT!” you’re thinking. “I think you picked up a copy of Coastal Living.”) Nope, apparently there are several secluded and beautiful island getaways up here. I read about unique Beaver Island, Michigan, laid-back Stout Island, Wisconsin and the super privcate Republic Island of Michigan. I am currently dying to see some of these places!

And then for all you food lovers, “Ultimate Food Trails.” That’s right. These are driving trips that give you a weekend to taste scrumptious local food. One went straight through dairy country in Wisconsin while another hugs the shoreline in Michigan.

Ahhhh. Sweet bliss. So go to your local library (or search high and low in local stores) for your very own copy. Chances are, you’ll fall in love with it just like I did.

From → Traveling

4 Comments
  1. Rhonda permalink

    I love this magazine too! Haven’t picked up a copy in a while, but I am going to hunt for it again! Maybe, it is more popular on the coast! You know how the grass is always greener…? Sometimes, we forget to enjoy the gifts all around us. Thanks for the post!

    • So true Rhonda. It seems that the most exciting things to see are far away, yet we are surrounded with beaty right where we are if we simply stop and look.

  2. Sounds like a good one to help plan some fun family vacations…thanks for the tip! — R.L.

    • Definitely! I was surprised at the number of places I had never even heard of, even though I have spent my entire life in the Midwest!

Leave a Reply

