Skip to content

Speed Cleaning!

September 26, 2011

Elaine’s Third Step

“If you’ve reduced your needs for goods and services, you may already have let the cleaning lady go.”

I was supposed to have a CLEANING LADY?!?!?!

However, Elaine’s idea for cleaning a house in the quickest way possible is one that I already use. I’ll admit it. I really don’t like cleaning my house. I love falling into my chair when I’m DONE cleaning and enjoying the dust-free furniture and shining sinks. I try to clean as thoroughly as possible so that I don’t have to clean again for a nice long time.

This “speed cleaning” approach is basically a way to clean everything without having to backtrack or waste time walking back and forth through the house. Of course, speed cleaning requires that all clutter already be picked up
and put away. There are a couple ways to do this. There’s the one room at a time approach which many people like. Gather all the cleaning products and tools that you will need to completely clean that room and use them one by one. For example, Windex all of the glass, mirrors and windows. Then dust knick-knacks. Then polish furniture with Pledge. Finally vacuum upholstery and the floor. I use this method for my bathrooms and kitchen. The second method is the one product at a time approach. This would be to take one product and go through the entire house, room by room and clean everything possible with that product. Then take the second product and so on. I clean my bedrooms, entryway, living room and dining room this way. I can now completely clean my house in under two hours and not have to clean again for another two weeks.

Here are a few of my favorite products – the tried and true!

Pledge Multi-Surface Wipes

These come pre-moistened with just the right amount of product. They work great on polishing my furniture. Have you ever tried them on stainless steel appliances or sinks? Say hello to miraculous shine!

 

 

 

Pledge Fabric Sweeper for Pet Hair

Have you ever wanted to just vacuum off your cat or dog? I’ve never tried it but from my experience in blow-drying my cats, I don’t think it would be such a great idea. This is the next best option for a quick fix. I use these on my microfiber furniture as well as on afghans, comforters, pillows, dining room chairs and more. While they’re not completely perfect, they pick up a surprising amount of my cats’ fur in just a couple minutes. They are perfect when prepping for last minute guests.

Swiffer Sweeper

I used to use a Clorox wet mop that had a sprayer. Eventually, that sweeper just stopped working. Since cleaning linoleum and tile is possibly my least favorite household task, I quickly gave up on scrubbing on my hands and knees. I got a Swiffer starter kit for the wet mop wipes. It also came with a couple dry wipes as a free trial. Let’s just say that I was amazed by how much hair and dust those dry wipes picked up! After seeing the results in my bathroom, I start to wonder how I wasn’t  completely bald!!

Swiffer Dusters

This is another miracle worker. Not only does it trap an incredible amount of dust and dirt, but it also fits into spaces that would otherwise be rarely cleaned. I have found that I can usually dust my entire house (two bedroom) with just one duster. Using Swiffer products alone cut my housecleaning time by 20%. Definitely worth the price!

Arm and Hammer Carpet Deodorizers

Instead of just masking bad odors, Arm and Hammer with OxiClean actually absorbs odors and lifts them out of the carpeting. I can testify that they work for my fiance who is allergic to cats. The first time he came to my house, I used this on all of the carpeting and rugs and he didn’t have a single problem. Hmmmm, I guess maybe I should use it again!

From → Cleaning

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

