Skip to content

A Simplification Project

September 17, 2011

I was at our amazing local thrift store with a friend yesterday, and it is just packed with used books. I found one book by Elaine St. James called Simplify Your Life. I flipped through it and decided that for fifty cents, it was worth bringing home. I was interested to see how some people organize and simplify their lives. I have to say that some of the “100 ways to slow down and enjoy the things that really matter” are pretty good and are things that I already do or could start doing. However, I thought that some of them got a bit far-fetched. (I have no plans to eat only fresh fruit one day every week.)

I will be the first to admit that this book was written in the ’90s but most general organizational tips shouldn’t change that drastically even over seventeen years. Of course, nothing about digital organization is mentioned. I noticed that this book was a National Bestseller and was endorsed by Oprah, which to me means that many women must find these ideas helpful.

Here is an excerpt about it from a book review on www.barnesandnoble.com.

“The more complex life becomes, the more people crave simplicity. Whether it’s in your work, relationships, health, finanaces, or leisure time, simplicity expert Elaine St. James can help you learn to unwind and improve the quality of your life. If you’re overpowered, overextended, and overwhelmed by the go-go lifestyle of the past decade, Simplify Your Life is your antidote, providing one hundred proven, practical steps for creating a simple and satisfying way of life. ”

So… who am I to knock it without trying it?!?! I will be doing my best to try these tips in the order that they were written, writing about three or four per week. I’ll let you know how the tips work for me and if I feel that they truly benefit my life. I figure that by the time the Minnesota Spring rolls around in April of 2012, I will have figured out if my life is simpler and therefore more enjoyable or simply more frustrating and choice-less.

Let the simplifying begin!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

