Skip to content

Reception Centerpiece Sparkle Takes the Spotlight

September 12, 2011

This weekend was an absolutely gorgeous September weekend in Minnesota. I played piano for a wedding and got a few great ideas for the lighting at our own wedding reception in December. Then my fiance and I worked on some of our own reception decorations the next day. I must admit, I was having trouble visualizing our reception. I had an idea of how I would decorate, but I couldn’t picture it in my mind’s eye.

Our theme is winter, but NOT Christmas decorations. I’m having a very dark purple and silver as our colors. Most of our decorations center on pinecones, tree branches, snow and candlelight.

Half of the guest tables will be decorated with ivory candles of various heights tied with a matching ribbon. I was really excited when I found that David’s Bridal sold ribbon that exactly matched their bridesmaid dress colors! Interested? Look here.

The other half of the tables will be decorated in tall glass bowls filled with pinecones (compliments of my brother and sister-in-law’s backyard) and potpourri from Ikea. (I must admit, I really love the scent and look of their potpourri, and the price – 99 cents! – is fabulous!) I used an aerosol can of glue to spray the pinecones and then I sprinkled some of them with silver, some with white and some with purple glitter to add a bit of sparkle.

I designed centerpieces for the head table that will match with some of the floor
decorations. I designed vases filled with tree branches (courtesy of my fiancé’s
old hedge) and silver curling accents. Before I put the branches into the
vases, I sprayed the bark with aerosolized snow. They are finished with a
combination of silver and clear decorative marbles in the bottom of each vase.
In low lights, these vases are eye-catching and unique yet have aMinnesota winter beauty.

I finished making these outside as the sun was setting and they were absolutely gorgeous!

If you’re looking for more of a crystallized ice look or for something with berries, this website (http://www.save-on-crafts.com/icedbranches.html) has some great ideas as well as a store to purchase the supplies through. These are also great for winter decor in your home. They are beautiful and can be fairly inexpensive depending on the materials that you use.

Happy decorating!

From → Wedding

One Comment
  1. Ooooo, I love! You are going to have such a lovely wedding. 🙂

Leave a Reply

