Skip to content

Welcome, daily schedule! I have missed you.

September 8, 2011

I stayed up late last night (OOPS!) to make my schedules for the weekdays. I much prefer to write at least the rough draft on paper and then possibly switch to a Word document or spreadsheet once I have the schedule perfected. I also like to use different colors when scheduling so that way it is easier for me to see when my personal time is and when my work time is. For example, I used yellow and purple for work, orange for personal time and blue for housework.

Since I teach piano Tuesdays through Thursdays, I leave Mondays and Fridays more for housework and cooking. I try to schedule an equal amount of personal time each day. Personal time to me means anything from waking up slowly in bed, to getting a shower, to reading a book or painting my toenails.

Also, for those of us who work at home and especially for those who have family schedules to work around, it’s very helpful to schedule a “floating hour” at some point in the day. This is the hour that you can use for random activities like haircuts, a needed nap, a supper engagement, playing with the kitties, an unexpected phone call or watering the flowers. I have found that this eliminates a lot of the frustration of sticking to a schedule since there is one completely unscheduled hour on each day of the week. And of course, no schedule goes completely according to plan. But if, for some unknown reason, I do stay on schedule, I can use that hour either to get more work done or to have some relaxation time.

Here are a couple examples of my days. First is Thursday, which is one of my busy workdays.

9:30a.m.  Wake up and personal time

11:30 a.m.  Write/blog

12:30 p.m.  Lunch

1:00 p.m.  Piano lessons

2:00 p.m.  Write

3:00 p.m.  Piano lessons

6:00 p.m.  Supper

6:30 p.m.  Piano lessons

7:00 p.m.  Write

8:00 p.m.  Floating hour!

9:00 p.m.  Catch up with family and friends

10:30 p.m.  Personal time

12:30 a.m.  Bedtime

Next is my Friday schedule, which is one of the days that I do more house-related activites such as the weekly grocery shopping.

9:30 a.m.  Wake up and personal time

11:30 a.m.  Write/blog

1:30 p.m.  Lunch

2:00 p.m.  Errands and grocery shopping

3:30 p.m.  Write

6:00 p.m.  Personal time

6:30 p.m.  Supper

7:30 p.m.  Write

9:00 p.m.  Floating hour!

10:00 p.m.  Catch up with family and friends

11:30 p.m.  Personal time and bedtime is whenever!

I try to scatter my writing throughout the day since I know that I lose focus and concentration if I do it without taking little breaks.

As you can tell, I’m more of a night owl then a morning person, and thankfully, that works out just fine with my stay-at-home schedule that allows me to set my own hours! However, I guess that I can’t stay up late anymore like I did last night to work on my blog. 🙂

From → Managing Time

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

