Skip to content

Making a Daily Schedule

September 6, 2011

I work as a private piano instructor throughout the year, which I absolutely love. I so enjoy teaching all of my students – children, teens, adults. I find piano teaching extremely rewarding as I see my students understand concepts and become better musicians. I also do some writing and editing for a couple companies on the side.

I find that I have to be careful to give myself a schedule since I work from home. If I don’t work according to a schedule, I end up somehow wasting my time. Sometimes, I have no idea where it goes! Another difficulty that I have is knowing when to clean my house and catch up on other things around the house since I am always here working. Working from home tends to merge all these facets together.

I accomplish many more things when I have a schedule to follow. Plus, I always work more efficiently and have a sense of accomplishment at the end of the day when I am being challenged by a time requirement. Of course, it’s impossible to follow a schedule like this to the minute, so I will make changes to it over the first couple weeks of a new school year to determine what really works best for me.

Making a schedule is easy in an Excel spreadsheet. However, I’m more of a paper and pencil girl myself. Is anyone else in love with graph paper?? Since each of my days is different based on my piano schedule, I need to have 5 completely different schedules. I make sure to include all of my personal daily activities as well as housework. I find that a schedule actually gives me more freedom and allows me to relax at the end of the day.

I will soon post a draft of one or two of my daily schedules here. However, for all of you stay-at-home moms that need a completely different sort of example that includes your children, here is an excellent link for you at a blog called Want What You Have.

Here is great free template if you don’t want to make your own. This is a full week landscape calendar.

From → Managing Time

2 Comments
  1. Michael permalink

    I’ve found a scheduler works best for me. I’ve never thought of having my schedule done on computer or using graph paper. Hmmm…

    • A scheduler or day planner is great for remembering certain special events, deadlines or plans; but a daily schedule can help with planning specific increments of time for daily activities that do not change. Some examples of this would be for scheduling computer work, housework such as laundry or cooking, and personal relaxational time.

Leave a Reply

